Programme Notes

Michael Oliva - An Autumn Regret

Michael Oliva (b.1966) An Autumn Regret (2014)

Dear as remembered kisses after death,
And sweet as those by hopeless fancy feign'd
On lips that are for others; deep as love,
Deep as first love, and wild with all regret

from "Tears, Idle Tears" by Tennyson

The electronic part takes the form of triggers (indicated in the score) for a Max patch (supplied as a download) which is operated by a separate performer seated at a mixing desk in a suitable position in the auditorium. As well as triggering the patch this performer should ensure an even balance between the performers and electronics. It is important that the parts are played accurately in tempo to ensure accurate synchronisation with the electronics.

The patch runs on a computer fitted with a good audio interface which feeds into a high quality stereo PA, with speakers positioned behind the performers on either side of the stage. Care should be taken to make sure the PA has a good bass and sub-bass response, since the electronics contain some extremely low frequency sounds, and these need to be reproduced at good volume without distortion. Use of a subwoofer is recommended. The instruments should be lightly amplified to help blend with the electronics.

An Autumn Regret was written for and premiered by rarescale (Carla Rees, alto flute, Ashley Myall, bassoon & Michael Oliva, electronics) on 27 May 2014 at The Forge, London

Buy Now